Skip to content

I don’t want to go outside anymore

It’s almost ten in the morning, but google is devastating my day, reminding me that it’s still only negative five degrees outside. On the drive in (which felt like my personal Iditarod),  the kind news voice told me the wind chill would be negative twenty today. A few minutes ago I realized I had forgotten my lunch in the truck and ran out to retrieve it (frozen solid as it is)–the cold is more than bracing; it’s crippling and dangerous. One simply can’t stand there and take it.

In an effort to retrieve some spiritual value from living in a freezer, I reminded myself of a couple verses:

Proverbs 25:20  Whoever sings songs to a heavy heart is like one who takes off a garment on a cold day…

This lesson strikes home harder today than on most days: to deal poorly with heavy hearts, to be flippant and carefree with a friend who’s hurting, does to the soul what taking my coat would do to my body. Even if we can’t be warm today, perhaps we can be warmth to others.

Psalm 147:17   He hurls down his crystals of ice like crumbs; who can stand before his cold?

Toward the end of this great song of praise is a reminder of God’s great, incontestable power. As little as I can simply stand still in this cold, even less can I stand before God’s power. These pinnacles of creation, whether the grand canyon or the perfect storm or the coldest days–all these serve to proclaim to my heart the greatness of God. And I need to hear. I need to be reminded, both to humble myself before such a mighty God and to delight my heart in counting this God my friend.

—–

So that’s how I’m trying to wring some help from the cold. How about you?

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Jun Ko #

    About to go swim! (I am not crazy. It is 80 degrees in the swimming water.) Will probably see you later today.

    February 10, 2011

Leave a Reply

