Skip to content

Ministry and identity

Paul Tripp on Jesus’ brotherhood ministry to us (Heb. 2:10-12) and applying it the “humble character of personal ministry”:

Our service must not have an “I stand above you as one who has arrived” character. It flows out of a humble recognition that we share an identity with those we serve. God has not completed his work in me, either. We are brothers and sisters in the middle of God’s lifelong process of change. I am not anyone’s guru. Change will not happen simply because someone is exposed to my wisdom and experience. We share identity, we share experience, and we are of the same family.

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Was this quote in one of his books?

    November 16, 2011
    • T #

      I’m guessing it comes from the book that shows up when you click on ‘Paul Tripp’s’ name. :) Looks like an interesting one too, though I haven’t read it yet myself.

      November 17, 2011
      • michele #

        Thanks, I didn’t see that. I do have this book and it is very encouraging!
        Michele

        November 17, 2011
  2. Our pastor always tells us we are beggars showing other beggars where to find bread.

    November 17, 2011

Leave a Reply

